Posted in Uncategorized

Skating Field Trip – A Huge Success!

On Tuesday, students had the chance to show off their skating skills at the John G. Mlacak arena in Kanata! We walked over to the arena, skated for an hour, had a snack and then walked back to WEJ. Students did so well out on the ice – we even had some students who had never skated before and did a great job!

Here are a few things that students in our class had to say about our skating field trip and pictures of our class in action!

“We went skating on Tuesday, March 26th. We walked to the library and wore our skates and helmet and we started skating. It was fun and it was great!” – Rebecca

“When I went skating, I did not know how to skate but I know how to skate now because of Ms. Argue. THANK YOU MS. ARGUE.” – Heidi

“It was so AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!! – Jonathan

“Skating is fun. I love skating. I go skating 2 times a week. The rinks and arenas are beautiful. I love skating.” – Ayden

“I went skating. It was a BLAST! It was my first time but I still has so much fun. I can’t wait until we go again. Maybe sometime you should try too. I had a BLAST!” – Miira

“Yesterday I had the best time of my life. We went skating. I played tag with my friends. We also played Octopus. It was truly awesome.” – Alina

“Yesterday, at skating I had an amazing time! I loved skating around the rink while talking to my friends. I also had a little bit of fun chasing the boys too! It was truly amazing!” – Sorcha

“It was so fun skating. We had so much fun.” – Michael

“That was the longest time I went skating at that rink!!” – Kevin

“It was the best skating field trip ever!” – Amar

“It was so great to see all of my students skating especially the ones who had never skated before. I was very proud of how the new skaters in our class persevered and kept trying until they succeeded. And we had so many other students helping them along the way. It was truly a great day!” – Ms. Argue 

“I loved to teach people how to skate! With some people it didn’t work out so well but it was fun skating with them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! – Isabel 

“I loved it soooooooooo much and when I say it, I mean it.” – Salma

“It’s pretty usual for me to be in the box. And it was really just a regular skating day. P.S. – The girls failed to catch me. 🙂

We will be heading back to the arena to skate next Tuesday, April 2nd! Stay tuned for more pictures of our skating adventures!

A big thank to our volunteers for making this field trip possible! Thank you to Vladimir, Riza and Saima for walking with us to the arena and back and to Shree for driving over all of our skating equipment. And thank you to all of you for helping tie up skates too!

Ms. Argue 🙂